Gedit Themes

Okay, first of all, I realize I have posted anything in nearly three months.  This has no excuse; I am shamed.  SHAMED.

Anyways.

So, I was thinking, I want to do another computer-y post. But then I thought about how so far I’ve really just done software reviews and stuff — and it’s not like that doesn’t already exist elsewhere.  I don’t need to reinvent the wheel.  So I decided to post something more original — two gedit themes I created.

gedit (all lowercase, always) is the default GNOME text editor.  It handles syntax highlighting, line numbers, margins, adjustable tab width… it’s pretty full-featured.  Visually, it starts out pretty basic but it’s got great plugin support and some pretty good built-in color themes.  However, all of them had something that bugged me; I decided to fix it.

Screenshot of my Oblivion++ theme

Click through for large size!

My first theme, Oblivion++, is based off the ships-with-gedit theme Oblivion.  It’s much bluer.

You can download the .xml file here or view it here; scroll  to the bottom of the post for installation instructions.

Screenshot of my gedit theme Vim Stylin'

This one has a large size too -- click it!

My other theme is Vim Stylin’, based off Vim color interpretations.  You can download the .xml here or view it here, just like the other.  Also just like the other, scroll to the bottom of the post for installation instructions.

If you do want one of these (if I do say so myself) pretty cool themes, download them to ~/.gnome2/gedit/styles, which may need to be created first.

gedit, as far as I know, works on Linux, Mac OS, and Windows, but comes with and works best on Linux.  If you have gedit on a non-linux OS, the file location will be different; it /should/ work okay from somewhere else but I haven’t tested it.

Once it’s downloaded and saved, open gedit.  In the menu bar choose Edit and navigate to Preferences.  Once there, click Fonts & Colors and click the Add button.  Navigate to and choose the downloaded theme; it should change immediately.

Enjoy!

Edit:  The text in the images is a bit of the code of Keylime Py, a fail-pun-named text-based adventure game I’m writing in python.  I’ll be blogging about it once it’s ready to be let out to teh interwebs.

    • Jobi K
    • April 8th, 2011

    Nice! Oblivion++ is sleek!
    How did you remove the buttons/toobar? I was actually searching for a way to do that, when I got distracted and came across your themes here. They buttons seem totally useless, as they all have keyboard shortcuts, so I was looking for a way to simplify the ui.

    If its not too much trouble, shoot me an email and let me know.

    Thanks!

    Jobi

  1. wow
    cool
    thx for nice tutorial

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

