Piriform Speccy

Brought to you by the same people who made Defraggler, CCleaner, and Recuva, Speccy tells you everything you wanted to know about you hardware and quite a bit you didn’t really need to know.

Pros:
Tells you –in great detail – about your OS, CPU, RAM, Motherboard, Graphics, Hard Drives, Optical Drives, and Audio.  For instance, it turns out my hard drive’s model is WD1600BEVT-00ZCTO

Cons:
Tells you more than you needed?

Rating:  9   9/10

Get this great program here, and have fun.

The window
Speccy

About the ratings: 
I copied Wired Magazine’s rating system because I like and I think it works well.  Here’s the key:
1 = A complete failure in every way
2 = Barely functional – don’t get it
3 = Serious flaws, proceed with caution
4 = Downsides outweigh upsides
5 = Recommended with reservations
6 = A solid product with some issues
7 = Very good, but not great
8 = Excellent, with room to kvetch
9 = Nearly flawless – get it now
10 = Metaphysical product perfection

    • winphreak
    • February 21st, 2010

    Just found this on StumbleUpon, and have to admit, it’s a very nice product. It even told me the temp of my processor. I know that’s nothing new, but it’s impressive it had that sort of functionality for a beta product.

    (Psst, when it hits a release version, does it get updated to 10/10?)

    • Yeah, it’s a pretty impressive beta. I’m not sure if I’ll update it to 10/10 when it hits release — it depends on what (if any) extra features get included.

      So, have you checked out the rest of my blog yet? If not, I recommend it. (‘course, I’m a little biased…)

    • james
    • August 18th, 2010

    Speccy is a very useful lightweight timple tool… however I have found that for certain graphics cards, speccy reports back as being something too generic like ‘ATI 512m Display’ or something like that.

    This is a pain for me, because I mostly use Speccy to find out what graphics card my clients are actually running to be able to download drivers.

    Other than that its mostly accurate on everything.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

