A Collection Of Excellent Authors

I own at least two books of every author here – more, for most of them.  I would highly recommend them to anyone who’s looking for a good read.

Robert Aspirin:  Writes the “Myth” series, a hilarious series of books full of adventure, danger, and puns.

Piers Anthony:  Author of several different series.  My favorites are the Xanth series and the Mode series.

Michael Crichton:  Wrote, among other, the Jurassic Park series.  Which are, of course, recommended – along with “The Sphere”  and “The Andromeda Strain”.

Eoin Colfer:  Specifically, the Artemis Fowl series.  Written for a more young adult audience, I still find them engaging, fun reads.

Rick Cook:  “Wizard’s Bane,” the story of a modern-day programming wizard who gets sent through time and space to a world where a wizard uses magic.  He ends up creating a new, safer, programming-based version of magic.  Also, read “Wizardry Compiled,” the sequel.

Harry Harrison:  “The Stainless Steel Rat,” easily one of the best crime/detective/futuristic books I’ve read and own.

Kelly McCullough:  A (so far) four-book series about a many-times-great-grandchild of one of the fates, who is also an excellent programmer who must save the world and avoid the Fates, trying to kill him.  I cannot emphasize how much I enjoy this series.

L.E. Modesitt:  Has a style of writing fairly unique to him – which does not change the fact that he writes really good books.  My two favorites are Gravity Dreams and Haze.

Christopher Paolini:  The Eragon series, which many of you have probably read.  If not, read it.  Starts out kind of slow, but nonetheless a thoroughly enjoyable read.

Tamora Pierce:  My favorite Pierce series are Protector Of The Small and Circle of Magic.  Both are purely fantasy, and both are very, very good.

And finally, saving my current favorite for last:  John Ringo
The writer of Military/Hard/Soft/Space Sci-fi, I haven’t read a single book of Ringo’s that I didn’t like.  My absolute favorite books of his include Vorpal Blade, A Deeper Blue, and the entire Council Wars series (beginning with There Will Be Dragons).

Head over to your local library and check some of these out, because they’re all awesome.  I can guarantee you’ll like at least one of them.

  1. Perfect!Great! This helped a bunch! I’ve seen several
    rather confusing blogs lately, this cleared up a lot confusion I had.

  1. March 29th, 2010

Leave a Reply

