Settin’ Up a Server

My little brother recently got a new computer, and gave the old mostly-broken one to me.  I merrily wiped the hard drive and set about installing Ubuntu Server so I could use it for remote backups.

It was surprisingly easy!

I downloaded the 10.04 LTS .iso from the Ubuntu Server homepage to my laptop (I used the torrent version, but it shouldn’t matter either way) and burned it to a disk using the instructions on the download page.

I hooked up the old computer to the router so it’d have internet, turned it on, and got the disk in before it went to boot. Ubuntu Server installation spash screen It happily loaded up the Ubuntu Server installation splash screen, and the install went without a hitch.  Once that I was done, I rebooted and did a quick ifconfig to make sure internet was working and to check the IP address. Back on my laptop, I tried to ssh in from my laptop… and it worked just fine. The server has  a preconfigured OpenSSH server set up, so I didn’t have to mess with the settings on that.  I set up ssh keys so I didn’t have to password everything, and tested everything with a rsync backup.  It worked perfectly, and there was much rejoicing.

Yaaaaay!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

